A Big Brutus State-of-mind

okieinexile

Reaction score
A Big Brutus State-of-mind
By Bobby Neal Winters

I had been avoiding it for fifteen years. Fear had kept me away, fear that life would never be the same afterwards, fear that I would be forever changed into someone my loved ones would no longer know.

I am speaking about the trip to Big Brutus, the second largest electric coal shovel in the world, of course.

It could be that some of you are like I was and haven't experienced it or don't know what kind of person, place, or thing Big Brutus is. Well, I not sure Big Brutus can be encapsulated by such narrow grammatical concepts as these. It's not a person, and to call it a "thing" seems almost sacrilegious (we pronounce that sack-religious, where I come from). And though it is located in a fixed place, it also transcends that place. It is not something that could ever really belong to any particular person or any particular locale, because, in reality, Big Brutus is a state of mind.

As I said, Big Brutus is the second largest electric coal shovel in the world, and it is located right in our backyard down in West Mineral, Kansas. I was lucky enough to visit it the other evening with my family and a group of Methodists from Topeka. Being there with people of faith was appropriate because it was truly a religious experience. As if to emphasize this, at one point, we all stood in the bucket and sang a spiritual. (The acoustics are great by the way.)