Can you condemn children?

Elizabeth May

Reaction score
I guess this is for the real hardcore fundies. I mean, you see a heathen (or whatever you term them) with children. If the heathens are damned then the usual reasoning is that the kids are damned too.

My point is: if you think god condemns kids and babies, don't you think that either you or your perception of God is evil?

I mean this in a sense for discussing.

Absolutely not! I would not believe it possible that anyone could be so unfeeling to their fellow human being, let alone the little children! Yet it happens! A blight indeed.

I dont think anybody has the ability to condemn anyone else. It is not anyones place to do so. As far as I know, The Bible says that christ will be the only one to judge.

Then again, I havent even read that book, im not a big fan of fiction.

Can I condemn children? Not at all.

I'm not very good at condemning anybody, actually.

Well, except politicians. :)

This question was one of the Big Ones for me, that helped drive me away from fundamentalist Christianity many years ago. Catholicism--not exactly what you think of as fundy nowadays--came up with the idea of limbo, a place for newborn babies who'd died before being baptized. It wasn't hell, exactrly, but it wasn't heaven, and it assuredly was not a concept founded on the scriptures!

But the fundamentalist worldview, as I understand it, admits, first, that ONLY baptized Christians can get into heaven ("I am the Way, the Truth, and the Life. No one comes to the Father, but by me." --John 14:6 "He that believeth and is baptized shall be saved; but he that believeth not shall be damned."--Mark 16:16.) There is absolutely NO wiggle room here for unbaptized babies, innocent children, or pagans who've never heard the Gospel.