Book Recommendations

kate0278

Reaction score
I'm pretty new to magick/wicca and wondered if anybody could recommend any good books? There seems to be a lot of trite cash-ins written on the subject, and I'm finding it difficult to search out the gems.

Thanks.

Here's my list of recommended books for beginners.

If you want books on magick specifically:

"Earth Power" by Scott Cunningham (a very down-to-basics folk magick approach)

"Practical Solitary Magic" by Nancy B. Watson (magick presented in a more systematic way than Cunningham's book)

"Modern Magick: Eleven Lessons in the High Magickal Arts" by Donald Michael Kraig (like Watson's book but goes more in western ceremonial magick including Kabalah)

There are many more out there but if you read at least two of these three books you're off to a good start.

If you want books on Wicca (which is a specific religion that incorporates the practice of witchcraft):

"A Witches Bible" by Janet and Stewart Farrar (originally published in two volumes as "The Witches' Way" and "Eight Sabbats for Witches") This is considered by many to be must-read material for Gardnerian and Alexandrian Wicca. Janet Farrar and her new husband, Gavin Bone (Stewart Farrar passed away a few years ago) have a new book out called "Progressive Witchcraft" which is also very good but is a departure from some of the ideas they presented in earlier works such as "A Witches Bible."

"Buckland's Complete Book of Witchcraft" by Raymond Buckland. He also has a new one out called "Wicca for One" which is excellent from what I've seen so far.

"Wicca: A Guide for the Solitary Practitioner" by Scott Cunningham. This one presents how Wicca can be practiced without belonging to a coven or formal group -- the idea was highly controversial when he first published this book. Now the idea of solitary Wiccans is pretty mainstream and many other books take it for granted as acceptable.