Filling a niche: A personal view of student ratings

okieinexile

Reaction score
Filling a niche: A personal view of student ratings

By Bobby Neal Winters

I will begin this piece by introducing myself because it is important for you to know who I am. I am a university professor and currently the president of my university’s bargaining association, which is a professorial, overly-precise way of saying that I am the head of the union.

A year ago when I assumed the presidency of the bargaining association, saying that it was important would have seemed pompous or silly. I mean this is just a title after all. I didn’t gain a single brain cell May 1, 2004 when I assumed the office. I didn’t even have to take a class. A ballot was sent out that only had one candidate’s name, mine, at the president’s spot, and I won, so I cannot claim that I won the position through charisma or ability.

I thought it would mainly be a title. I would just fill a spot for a year and that would be that. There was no reason for not believing this. Contract negotiations were going well and had a civil tone, and the state budget crisis was behind us. It looked like nothing but clear sailing ahead.

However, negotiations became protracted, going into June and July, and there was one point on which the Administration—in the view of the Association—was being stubborn. That was on the matter of student ratings.

Those who are not in education might not be aware of the issue of student ratings. Near the end of each semester most professors will administer student rating forms to their classes in order to determine how the student has perceived the class. The students fill in bubbles on a form to indicate how well they like various aspects of the teacher’s performance, in most cases rating items from 1 to 5 with 1 being intense feelings in one way and 5 being intense feelings in the other.