What are the names of the buddah?

Forgotten

I like you
Reaction score
I am often confused, since man lists vary in length. Does anybody have a comprehensive list of them? Could you please type it out or direct me to a website.

To get you started, since no one else has replied. The Buddha's in my vehicle and tradition are;

Shakyamuni
Amitabha / Amitayus
Avalokiteshvara
Vajradhara
Tara (Green, white and red are most prevalent but there are 21)
Maitreya
Manjushri

I think that's right, I'm sure someone will correct me if I'm wrong. ;) I'm still fairly new to Buddhism and I'm not sure if they differ from vehicle to vehicle or tradition to tradition. It's also important to keep in mind there are many different aspects of these Buddha's often changing their appearance or even sometimes their names. Also the spellings of their names differ depending on who you talk to. The way I have spelled them is a little more phonetic than some.

How about someone start a lists of Bodhisatvas? :D

~Ricky

Namaste all,

thank you for the post.

do you mean to ask "what are the various names of *any* Buddha?" or do you mean to ask, "what are the names of the various Buddhas which have arisen in this world system?"

the answer to the first is such that it would apply to all Buddhas. the second bit is different. there are seven named previous Buddhas in this world system, however, this world system is not the only world system in which a Buddha has arisen.

that being said, the named Buddhas are:

Buddha Vipassi (the first Buddha to arise in our world system)

Buddha Sikhi

Buddha Vessabu

Buddha Kakusandha

Buddha Konagamana

Buddha Dipankara

Buddha Kassapa

http://www.accesstoinsight.org/canon/sutta/digha/dn-32-pt0.html

metta,

~v

Sorry, I obviously missed the boat on this one. How embarrassing! Spreading false Dharma, that must be really karmically bad. :(

~Ricky

Namaste rdwillia or do you prefer Ricky?