A garland instead of ashes

okieinexile

Reaction score
A garland instead of ashes

The spirit of the Lord GOD is upon me, because the LORD has anointed me; he has sent me to bring good news to the oppressed, to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and release to the prisoners; to proclaim the year of the Lord's favor, and the day of vengeance of our God; to comfort all who mourn; to provide for those who mourn in Zion-- to give them a garland instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, the mantle of praise instead of a faint spirit. They will be called oaks of righteousness, the planting of the LORD, to display his glory. –Isaiah 61:1-3

I am a teacher at a university and have taught at the university level for twenty years. One of the hazards of being a teacher is forgetting what it means to be a student. A few years ago I got such a reminder when I took a series of classes in Russian.

The group of people who took theses classes were a rather odd crew. There were 10 students, and most of them were professors like me who were there just because they wanted to learn the language. We were people in our 40s, 50s, and 60s.

On the other hand, the teacher was a 24-year-old Russian woman from Ukraine. Compared to the students in her class, she was a mere slip of a girl, but she was very talented as a teacher. She employed a variety of techniques which were innovative and effective, but one of the things I remember most is that she put stickers on the top of our papers.

When we did well she put smiley faces with a thumbs-ups and the message “Good work.” For those who did badly, she had a frownie face with the message “Try harder.” These are things you would do for elementary school students, but what might surprise some of you is how well it worked on college professors.