Does the bible refer to Hindu epics?

Samuel Linton Boot

Subdued Member
Reaction score
4There were giants in the earth in those days; and also after that, when the sons of God came in unto the daughters of men, and they bare children to them, the same became mighty men which were of old, men of renown. Genesis 6:4 (King James Version)

What's this about?

Samuel Linton Boot said:
4There were giants in the earth in those days; and also after that, when the sons of God came in unto the daughters of men, and they bare children to them, the same became mighty men which were of old, men of renown. Genesis 6:4 (King James Version)

Doesn't ring any bells. With which Hindu epic or epic episode do you see commonality here?

A.

Please see the discussion "The Nephalim" and "Who were the men of old/reknown"

This quote is thoroughly discussed in those threads.

I have no knowledge of the Hindu epics. Is there a story that refers to giants breeding with human maidens?

The pre-existence of giants seems to be quite a common theme across various pantheons.

Interestingly enough, I seem to recall ancient Greeks viewing Mycenean monuments as having been built by giants - when actually the Myceneans were simply the forebears of the Greeks themselves.

Originally Posted by Samuel Linton Boot 4There were giants in the earth in those days; and also after that, when the sons of God came in unto the daughters of men, and they bare children to them, the same became mighty men which were of old, men of renown. Genesis 6:4 (King James Version)
tropheus74 said:
Please see the discussion "The Nephalim" and "Who were the men of old/reknown"

This quote is thoroughly discussed in those threads.

I have no knowledge of the Hindu epics. Is there a story that refers to giants breeding with human maidens?
Hi tropheus. Can you provide some links to the threads for me on this? Thanks.