Jesus - Elvis Presley: A tenuous link?

Awaiting_the_fifth

Where is my mind?
Reaction score
When reading Thomas' post on the historical proof of Jesus, another question occurred to me.

If Jesus had not been killed so early in his ministry, would Christianity have ever existed as a seperate religion.

If I may, I would like to compare Jesus to Elvis Presley. A great man, the best anyone had ever known at what he did. His public life cut tragicly short at the peak of his fame. If Elvis had survived to this day, or perhaps simply died of old age at the natural end of his career, would he have achieved the Legend status he has today?

I suspect that if Elvis had not died at his peak, I would probably not know who he was, just as I have no knowledge of a whole host of 1950's rock and roll stars.

Similarly, I suspect that if Jesus had not died at his peak, I would have never heard of him, just as I have never heard of the many other ancient Jewish teachers who claimed to be the Messiah.I think he would be remembered only to the Jews as a wise Rabbi from ancient times, and perhaps a lesser prophet.

Opinions?

Well, since the primary event in Christianity is the Resurrection, I'd have to agree - the message of Jesus is in that event - not the birth, and less so in the teachings, which were basically a return to standards of practice of Judaism.

Well, as you invited opinion, here goes...

Before, though, a correction:
If Jesus had not been killed so early in his ministry, would Christianity have ever existed as a seperate religion.
The death of Jesus was the end and accomplishment of his earthly ministry.[/i]

If I may, I would like to compare Jesus to Elvis Presley.

Have we in the west lost all sense of proportion? Or perhaps I have, and this thread is a joke?

If you are seriously seeking an answer, I suggest you compare like to like, Elvis to his like, those who have died, and those who live on, and there you will find an answer.