ghosts amongst us?

Reaction score
hi everyone!

i'v been talking to people recently about their beliefs regarding death and ghosts/spirits, and a lot of them hav experiences of what they think are people coming back to see them, spirits who live in their house etc, and iv been wondering what peoples opinions and views about this are..obvioulsy coming from a buddhist perspective.

do you believe spirits in the ghost realm live amongst the us etc ?

look forward to peoples replies

peace

well, the only thing as far as buddhism goes that mentions ghost that i know of (remember, im very new at all this, so im sure theres more) is the hungry ghost life. however, to me, it seems like more of a mindset rather than an actual existance, not that it couldnt be, but since i have yet to experience it that i can remember, i cant say for sure, ya know? but to me, the hungry ghost life seems to be like the mind of an addict. the mouth is so small and the stomach so big that no matter how hard they try, they can never get enough to fulfill their craving. however, one could say that we all go through that from time to time. but, i guess its all a matter of prespective. but, thats mine. however im sure that one of the more knowledgeable members on here might be able to shed some more light on the subject of the spirit realm as far as buddhsim goes. anyways, good luck and be well in peace.

Namaste michaellangelo,

thank you for the post.

within the overall rubric of Buddha Dharma, there are beings which have taken a negative rebirth in one of the three unfortunate rebirths which we call the Hungry Ghosts. these are beings that are typified by greed and lust for material gain and one can see how this could be a fair description of mental states that a being may be dominated by.

that said, the Hungry Ghost realm intersects this realm and, as such, there isn't much of an issue with the idea of ghosts, per se, amidst the living beings within the overall auspices of Buddha Dharma.