insight meditations...

toujour_333

a simple buddhist
Reaction score
namaste,

as most of you know, i am rather new to buddhism and its practices. i have studied meditation and practiced it for quite some time now. however, i have yet to really get into insight meditation. as far as what i have done, here is a list of my meditation:

focusing on the breath
the metta bhavana
mala practice with a few mantras

and thats about it. i dont know really where to start as far as insight meditation. i remember reading something a while back about when the Buddha saw a rotting body on the side of the road, he meditated on it, or something to those lines (i apologize is i misinterpreted the story, but i dont have much memory due to a medical problem, so hopefully my memory is correct, however, if it isnt, i would be very happy if someone would correct me that way i will know). so, i did that meditation last night, except i used the image of my cat whom i am very attached to, rotting away and watching the differnt forms of decay. at first, it was rather sad, but then i developed a sense of peace when i saw that there were so many other animals and beings that could benefit from the decay of my friend/pet.

is this anything along the lines of insight meditation? can someone give me some guides as to how to do a few intorductory insight meditations? it would be greatly appreciated. my meditation practice has gotten a lot better and i have developed much better concentration as of late, just for those who would like to know about the progress of my practice.

but, thank you all for listening and i hope that everyone is doing well.

be well in peace
jon

jon,

Namaskar ...

... the story might be one involving Arya Asanga (Aryasanga), and contact with the Buddha Maitreya. If so, Sogyal Rinpoche tells it in the Tibetan Book of Living and Dying. You can find it online, here.