“I disagree with that!”

okieinexile

Reaction score
By Bobby Neal Winters

In my town, the Catholic Church is on 9th Street about two blocks off Broadway. I was driving south Broadway today looked over toward it. There is a cross atop it’s steeple—probably the tallest spire in town—and from my perspective there in the car, it looked to me as if the cross was just a little off being straight according to the east-west line of 9th Street. I had noticed this before, but being a mathematician by trade, I rather suspect that it is simply a trick of angles or an artifact of projective geometry; however there is always doubt.

I was raised as a Southern Baptist in an almost exclusively protestant part of the world. Now that I am living in a more Catholic neck of the woods, whenever I see something different about the Catholics, I wonder if there is some special purpose to it. I asked a friend of mine who has a degree from Notre Dame about it, and he said there was no theological reason that he was aware of for a cross being askew from the straight east and west, so the question is settled for the time being.

The reason that I thought that the cross might be askew from the street is that the Cross is askew from the world, in particular the modern world. We are in an age of instant gratification and rampant consumerism. We are in an age of “anything between consenting adults.” We are in an age of “I’m OK, you’re OK.” The Cross is not about any of that. The Cross is about suffering for the sake of others. It is about paying the price for reconciliation between God and Man. It is about loving someone more than yourself.

If we don’t set our crosses just a little off the lines that are determined by our age and by the styles, then we certainly ought to.