Question to all

Pilgram

Reaction score
Greetings,

I am new to the study of comparative religion and would like to know the following.

Does anyone know of a religion or organization that INCLUDES all the beliefs agreed upon by the major religions and EXCLUDES all beliefs that two or more religions disagree upon?

This may sound very basic to many of you but I would really appreciate any help you can give.

Thanks

Namaste Pilgrim,

welcome to the forum.

actually... yes :) the organization is called the Universalist-Unitarian Church... which is a combination of the Universalist and Unitarian sects respectively.

they are usually in regular church looking buildings, but that's not always the case... and you can tell that you're at the right spot due to the various religious holy symbols at the pulpit...

you'll usually see Baha'i, Christian, Taoist, Islamic, Jewish et al symbology displayed.

here's a website that you can visit for more information:

http://www.uua.org/

Do your own religion.

I understand, Pilgram, that you are after a religion to practice. It is a very good intention. Religion has been with mankind from since the dawn of consciousness. And I for one maintain that people without any religion whatsoever is missing something in life.

My suggestion to you is that you examine yourself to find out what is your preference in terms of rigidity and flexibility in regard to doctrines and practices and conformity with others of the same religion which you might want to join.

From your post reproduced below, you appear to favor a flexible religion, or rather you prefer to maintain your freedom while being a religious person. Before anything else, maybe you would like to consider my definition of a religion:

A human behavior founded upon a belief in an unknown power resulting in affections and actions intended by the believer to influence the power to react favorably to the believer.