Points of Intersection?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pilgram

Reaction score
Greetings All,

I am new to the study of comparative religion and am wondering about something perhaps someone might be able to help me with.

I would like to know if anyone has conducted a systematic scholarly study of all the AGREED upon beliefs (dogma) of the "major" world religions. I suspect that if such a study has been conducted, the researchers would have found only basic beliefs such as tell the truth, be compassionate, forgive your enemies, etc. But that's all right? I simply want to know IF such a study has been done and who did it.

Any one?

Peace and love,
Pilgram

Hi Pilgram,

I just joined, and I see you asked this a couple months ago and have not gotten any responses.

You might enjoy checking out this link

http://www.bahaistudy.org/library.html#books

This book addresses the question you asked very well and then some IMHO. You can read it online or if you go back to the home page there is a link for the audio book.

"
The Book of Certitude (The Kitáb-i-Íqán) Author: Bahá'u'lláh (1863)In this book Bahá'u'lláh speaks about other Prophets, portrays Their lives and Their sufferings, demonstrates the truth of Their Missions and describes the common feature of Their Faiths. In this way He brings to the understanding of the reader the truth of His own religion. Shoghi Effendi translated the book into English in 1929-1930. In its original language it is a model of Persian literature for its style and prose. "

Loving Greetings, Harmony

9Harmony said:
Hi Pilgram,

I just joined, and I see you asked this a couple months ago and have not gotten any responses.

You might enjoy checking out this link

http://www.bahaistudy.org/library.html#books

This book addresses the question you asked very well and then some IMHO. You can read it online or if you go back to the home page there is a link for the audio book.

"