question

G

gabriel06

I'm a student learning about cultural diversity, and the moment we are discussing religions namely buddhism. I was wondering do budists pray to a god, like the christain faith?, and do they actually recognise jesus etc?
sorry if it sounds a silly question , but if you dont know , ya dont know. Always ask.:confused:

Hi gabriel06--welcome to CR!

No one would call me a Buddhist, but I am very interested in Buddhist thought. I enjoy learning about it, as I personally find it interesting in both some spiritual and practical ways.

I think you will find the Buddhist community here very helpful indeed!

Just saw you here and wanted to say "hi". :)

InPeace,
InLove

I was wondering do budists pray to a god, like the christain faith?

Hi Gabriel,

No such thing as a silly question.

You may read about gods in Buddhism, but they are not the creator God of Christianity. “Praying” suggests asking for help from something / somebody whereas Buddhism is concerned with keeping the responsibility for your life within you.

and do they actually recognise jesus etc?

The Buddha lived about 500 years before Jesus so the teachings of the Buddha will obviously not contain any mention of Jesus. However, religions have common things in them (and are related in some cases), so I would suggest a Buddhist today will see the value in the teachings of Jesus where they match the teachings of the Buddha. The words used may be different but the underlying meaning is similar.

Hopefully you might find this site quite useful. In fact you may end up with more responses that you would like!:)

Snoopy.

I'm a student learning about cultural diversity, and the moment we are discussing religions namely buddhism. I was wondering do budists pray to a god, like the christian faith?, and do they actually recognise jesus etc?
sorry if it sounds a silly question , but if you dont know , ya dont know. Always ask.:confused: