Baha'i/Ananda Marga

Pathless

Fiercely Interdependent
Reaction score
I've read a bit about Baha'i here in these forums and it strikes me as remarkably similar to another "new religious movement" that I have had some experience with called Ananda Marga. Like Baha'i, or rather what I know of Baha'i, Ananda Marga considers itself a universalist form of spirituality, yet reveres one man as a divine messenger, elevating him to god-like status.
One of the differences between Ananda Marga and Baha'i, though, is the time of origin. If I remember correctly, Bahull'whatsisname ;) (I will call him B from here on out, because I can't recall his proper name) lived and expounded his teachings in the late 18th century, which put him at least a good 150 years before the advent of P.R. Sarkar or Baba, or Shrii Shrii Anandamurti, as he is variously known. Anandamurti claimed to be the Guru of the entire human race (but don't tell any Margiis that I told you that here!). ;) I'm wondering what Baha'i people would think of such a claim, given the idea of progressive revelation. If I remember correctly from my readings of Baha'i teachings here in these forums, Baha'is believe that B will not be succeeded by a new "prophet" or avatar for at least 1000 years.
Before you dig into the writings of B for the answer, please take a moment to familiarize yourself with the publicly presented social and spiritual philosophies of Ananda Marga and see if you feel that there are similarities between the two traditions.
What do you think? Is it possible that Anandamurtri was another of God's vessels for divine revelation, or should we just write him off? ;)
And yes, I am agitatin'. :p You'll have to pardon me, but as disciples of a new religious movement you should be prepared (and I realize you probably are--very much so!) to answer questions and/or challenges like this.