A couple of questions about Islamic beliefs about Jesus

cmptechie

Reaction score
Hey all, I'm a newbie here and this is my first post. I've been researching a lot of world religions, concentrating on Islam, due to a large number of Muslims living in my area. I've searched several web sites and asked several members of the Islamic community, but not been able to find the answer to two simple questions.
First, to my understanding, Muslims believe that Jesus did not actually die on the cross. I've two versions of what happened. One of them is that Jesus stood trial and before the sentence was carried out, Allah miraculously removed him from danger and replaced him with someone else. The other is that though Jesus did go to the cross, he did not die, but, again, was saved by Allah.
My first question is this, every bit of research I've done has shown that Jesus did indeed stand trial, but for what? Why was he sentenced? With what was he charged?
My second is why did Allah wait nearly 600 years before revealing the truth? Merely personal opinion, but that seems to be a deception to His creation? I don't mean to offend anyone, for that matter, I'd like to be proven wrong.

I'm not a Muslim, but I'm a student of Islam. The over-all approach to history in the Quran and the Islamic tradition is kind of... well, you can interpret it as simplistic or implied or unimportant (a long list of biblical names is absent from the quran though the stories are illuminated). Therefore, its not important for what reason Jesus stood trial, but that he was, in the end just, and therefore favored as a prophet by Allah from the grasp of the evildoers and faithless. Martyrdom via pacifism wasn't big in ancient Arabia, naturally.

As for the second question, I have no idea. I'm sure there's a source of apologetics that reason something for it.

The Quran tells us that God favors His beloved servants/Prophets, so naturally in a verse it states "Allah and His messengers always prevail".