Jewish Dress Inquiry

Ben-Ja'min87

Ben-Ja'min87
Reaction score
Hello. I'm a student, and in English we have to pick a "rite of passage" to do an oral on. I'm going to talk about Bar Mitzvah, and I was going to wear a Jewish skullcap just for the visuals. Then I thought if I should, then I realised I didn't know :( So can anyone enlighten me on the rules for Jewish dress regarding Gentiles? Particularly the rules for the skullcap if any. I've always wondered. Is it strictly Jewish or is it a traditional Israeli peice of clothing?

Ben-Ja'min87 said:
Hello. I'm a student, and in English we have to pick a "rite of passage" to do an oral on. I'm going to talk about Bar Mitzvah, and I was going to wear a Jewish skullcap just for the visuals. Then I thought if I should, then I realised I didn't know :( So can anyone enlighten me on the rules for Jewish dress regarding Gentiles? Particularly the rules for the skullcap if any. I've always wondered. Is it strictly Jewish or is it a traditional Israeli peice of clothing?
Namaste Ben-ja'min,

thank you for the post.

you should probably take a look at this site:

http://www.jewfaq.org/

having said that... when i've had a chance to go to Temple, i've always worn a skullcap inside the building... whilst outside, this was never required nor encouraged.

perhaps, our more learned Jewish members will pop by to help you out on this one...

i don't think it's "offensive", but it is unnecessary. to cover one's head is a religious requirement and it's not one that applies to you in this context. it might confuse your audience into thinking you're jewish or something.

i'm not a fan of bar mitzvah, especially. it's got really stupid these days.

b'shalom

bananabrain