Are all forms of Buddhism Monistic?

mattityahu

Hopefully Orthodox
Reaction score
Please forgive, for I'm a total noob when it comes to Buddhism. I've heard that some Buddhists (Zen?) use the phrase "If you see the Buddha, kill him", and that it means that you haven't realised that you are the Buddha, because all is one (monism). Is this right?

And if it is, what about things like love and hate, good and evil, are they all one and the same too?

Many thanks in advance,
Matt

Hi Matt,

Well I've yet to use the phrase myself, but welcome to IO :)

Separating stuff intellectually into good and bad, right and wrong, ugly and beautiful etc is essential and useful, it's how our minds work but it isn't reality. They are just different views. Reality is an undivided, ineffable whole. This whole is the ultimate Truth, but it doesn't help you to decide which top to put on.

Snoopy.

Hi Matt,

Well I've yet to use the phrase myself yet, but welcome to IO :)

Separating stuff intellectually into good and bad, ugly and beautiful etc is essential and useful, it's how our minds work but it's isn't reality. Reality is an undivided, ineffable whole. This whole is the ultimate Truth, but it doesn't help you to decide which top to put on.

Snoopy.

So there is no difference in reality between love, hate, good, bad, the whole shebang?

Please forgive, for I'm a total noob when it comes to Buddhism. I've heard that some Buddhists (Zen?) use the phrase "If you see the Buddha, kill him", and that it means that you haven't realised that you are the Buddha, because all is one (monism). Is this right?

And if it is, what about things like love and hate, good and evil, are they all one and the same too?

Many thanks in advance,
Matt
Dhammapada 1:1-5