On the impossibility of doing good

Bulletcatcher

Reaction score
I should have better named it "on the impossibility of knowing that you are doing something good".

Have you ever tried to save some people and it turned into absolute mayham? You are not alone!

As an environmental scientist I guess that it is impossible to improve the earth or the economy lastingly. Because the earths ecosystem is subject to the laws of thermodynamics, especially entropy, its ecosystems repair rate and hence as well as how many humans it can sustain lastingly is limited by the amount of sunlight coming in and getting lost. More on this in the extended part*

But if earth in a material sense is a zero sum game beeing good in a material sense is not possible and hence can not be condishioned:

- neither by a (visible) god giving you (visible) treats for "correct" behaviour - he is not revealing himself
- nor by a (in reality not possible) material progress giving you likes on Facebook. This likes could be misleading when it comes to moral.

If our earth is a zero sum game in a material sense you have nothing to orientate yourself clearly to towards in your search for good - besides your own consciousness. Free will deluxe (and an infinite search in Konfuzius sense).

Building free will could hence be the reason why this existence scientifically looks or even is build to be amoral (the fall from Eden).

That choosing to be evil will be punished by god (although possible) does not purely logically follow from the last conclusion - because giving us free will and hence a true personality could be gods only aim. I am not sure what would be to high a price for this.

*Sunlight gain and loss is at a steady state setting a firm limit on civilisation and the fuels we are using in the moment can be pictured as "frozen sunlight" that is irreplacably used up.