Visit to Jesus Tomb

Child of a New Day

Reaction score
I was reading that when Mary Magdalene went with two other woman to visit Jesus tomb, they were on their way to annoint the corpse with spices. I was wondering what the significance of this was? What spices did they use and why? I have very little knowledge in this area.

I think the spices were used to cover up the smell of the decaying body.

Others here may have more info.

lunamoth

lunamoth said:
I think the spices were used to cover up the smell of the decaying body.

Others here may have more info.

lunamoth
Frankensense and Myrrh. Besides hiding the smell, it was a tradition of respect for the dead, particularly of a loved one.

It also leads one directly back to the birth of Jesus, and what gifts were brought to the toddler by the Magi...;)

v/r

Q

Frankensense and Myrrh wow. I guess you would have to use a lot. I have frankensense and myrrh in the purest form I could find and it does not really give off much of a smell unless you burn it. Maybe it was different (more potent) back then? I think that is interesting. Something like bringing flowers to a grave site I guess. How they must have mourned him!

I think that there may have been burial rituals that involved the use of frankencense and myrrh. Let's do some research and find out.

Child of a New Day said:
Frankensense and Myrrh wow. I guess you would have to use a lot. I have frankensense and myrrh in the purest form I could find and it does not really give off much of a smell unless you burn it. Maybe it was different (more potent) back then? I think that is interesting. Something like bringing flowers to a grave site I guess. How they must have mourned him!