Alternative Christian Awakenings

Abogado del Diablo

Ferally Decent
Reaction score
There is a surprising number of non-mainstream Christians that participate in this forum (surprising to me at least). I consider myself a non-mainstream Christian, though for about ten years I was a studious born-again, evangelical. I've seen passing comments from other alternative Christians (for lack of a better term) about their own experiences but I was curious about whether you started with a dedication to a more mainstream view, and if so, which one? I would also like to share stories of how your eyes were opened to the way you experience your Christian walk now.

For myself, it was a long process (another ten years) during which I completely walked away from Christianity because I did not approve of how evangelical Christianity (in my experience) made people view and treat others. I studied mythology, anthropology, psychology, literature, law, comparative religion and history and came back with a much, much deeper understanding of the meaning of Christianity and find it infinitely more fulfilling than I did before.

What are your experiences?

BTW, I consider myself a mythologist and try to see the truth in every wisdom tradition. But if I had to put a label on the way of viewing Christianity that I prefer, I would say that I am a "Thomas Christian."

Neat topic. I'm not that surprised that there are a disproportionate number of non-mainstream Christians here, due to the nature of the board, but I am excited to have a forum where I can talk with people that have "alternative" versions of Christianity.