Abiogenesis

lunamoth

Episcopalian
Reaction score
Abiogenesis, not evolution, addresses the creation of life from non-living forms. I thought it might be interesting to explore this theory here, and also to ask a question.

The current model of aboiogenesis (I am not an expert, I'm taking my info from Talk Origins) simplified goes like this:

simple chemical-->polymers-->replicating polymers-->hypercycle-->protobiont-->bacteria

My understanding leads me to accept that given enough time and the right conditions this might be possible. Various parts of it have either been recreated in the laboratory or observed in nature, for example Self-reproducing system can behave as Maxwell's demon: theoretical illustration under prebiotic conditions. To me the obvious big jump is from a hypercyle (whatever that is) to a protobiont.

From the online article:
"..., because in modern abiogenesis theories the first "living things" would be much simpler, not even a protobacteria, or a preprotobacteria (what Oparin called a protobiont [8] and Woese calls a progenote [4]), but one or more simple molecules probably not more than 30-40 subunits long. These simple molecules then slowly evolved into more cooperative self-replicating systems, then finally into simple organisms [2, 5, 10, 15, 28]. An illustration comparing a hypothetical protobiont and a modern bacteria is given below."

I hope the explore this further online and share what I find here for your critiques, but for now one question has occurred to me that some of our members might be able to answer.