Is environmentalism a new religion?

ben

Reaction score
This is actually my dissertation title. I am a student at plymouth uni. Basically Ive been looking at the similarities between environmentalism and religion. I would really appreciate your thoughts on how different religions see our relationship with nature and our responsibilities towards it.

Well...it depends on how you define religion. It's easy to make parallels between secular and religious ideologies simply on the basis of being ideologies - but when you start looking at the details it can be harder to reconcile them.

For example, key points about religion is that it is usually a definitive set of beliefs, dealing specifically about our relationship with the universe and death, and how to apply those principles to living. Usually there's a central core of texts which cannot be challenged, and an organised body that overseas interpretation and practices from these texts for the lay community.

I don't really see that in environmentalism.

However, the comparison as above may be particularly superficial, or else misunderstand the interpretation of what constitutes religion. :)

Anmyway, hope that helps, and welcome to CR. :)

Hi Ben:)

I tend to agree with Brian in that it really depends on how one defines religion. Sometimes, one's religion is part of an organized (or somewhat disorganized at times;)) belief system which may or may not speak to the idea of taking care of the environment. However, it seems to me that the issue is often addressed by these systems, either by direct command, or by a general idea of how we are to treat all things.