A Theosophist in Southern California

Nick the Pilot

Reaction score
Hi everybody!

I am a Theosophist in Southern California. I am an airline pilot, and I fly in and out of San Diego everyday.

I used to live in Japan, where I taught English to Japanese people. I also learned to speak Japanese at that time, as well as picking up a love for the game called Go.

I grew up a Catholic, and went to a Catholic high school. However, I soon decided that Christianity did not work for me. The day I graduated from high school was the day I quit the church.

It is important to me that my belief system make sense, and I spent years trying to find something that works for me. I checked out many different religions, but I never found exactly what I was looking for. Then, one day, I found exactly what I was looking for. I am fortunate in that I found something that works for me, and I strongly advise people not to settle for a religion that is "OK", but that each of us strive to have a belief system that makes 100% sense. In my opinion, there can be no compromise in this area.

I strongly believe in religious pluralism. There are different kinds of people, so we need to have different kinds of religion. A tolerance of each other's religion is the first requirement to having meaningful interfaith discussions.

Greetings, Nick! And Welcome to CR!!! :)

Glad to have someone else with a Theosophical background! I'm across the states from you (NC), but my story is very similar. Grew up Lutheran, and went so far as Confirmation, but I lost interest after that.

For me there was a growing curiosity during my teen years, and when I was about 17 I discovered Theosophy. I worked after-school at Guilford College Library, which has a Quaker (Society of Friends) background, and I was involved with Interlibrary Loan. The book that started it all for me was Being Peace, by Thich Nhat Hanh, a Vietnamese Zen Buddhist monk.