Spiritual or Human?

wil

UNeyeR1
Veteran Member
Reaction score
There is a saying, "We are spiritual beings having a human experience."

Do you buy that?

If so why do we try to be more spiritual?

If we believe we are perfect spirtual beings incarnated in 3D to experience love and gravity and emotions and a skin....why work toward being more spiritual and not just being a better human...or is that the same thing?

Well, I'm not sure I agree with the statement. I think we are humans which means we are body and spirit together. The way the statement if phrased it's like we could be a bodiless soul, then we incarnate, and then we go back to being a bodiless soul.

Personally I have no knowledge of what if anything we are before we arrive in this life and I have no experience or testable objective knowledge of what happens in the next. I trust by faith that this is not the end and we go on. The Christian faith teaches that we go on in a raised, transformed body. I don't really know exactly, objectively, what that means, except that we don't exist as bodiless souls. I have no reason to reject that for another teaching about the afterlife.

With respect to what we are doing in this life, we love. That is the human spiritual experience worth having and working on.

I'd shorten the saying to just, "We are."

And leave it at that.

Not sure I buy into it Wil. The term "spiritual" means so much to me these days that I'm not sure I can imagine "not spiritual"
And what is it exactly that is made more spiritual? What are we trying to make perfect that isn't already what it was created to be? If what is real exists and what is not real merely dissolves what is there for us to do?

Spiritual being. Human being. I am not sure there is a difference.