The Space Between My Ears

Xavier Breath

Reaction score
Hello! I am a friend of Pattimax, and she encouraged me to join this forum. This is the first on-line forum I have been a part of since 1978. Back then, I had a PLATO terminal connected via a 1200 BAUD (yes, That's 1200 Bits per Second!) phone line to the network of mainframes which were the first connected computers on what later became the World Wide Web. I had email of sorts, and live chat at the bottom of the screen, and there were "message boards". Al Gore may have invented the internet, but my father laid down the gravel on which the information superhighway was paved.

I have been conducting a free-form Bible Study at a local jail for the past 8 years. I go the first Tuesday of each month and so far, the bulls have always let me go at the end of my hour. I let the inmates pick the lesson each month, which saves me a lot of preparation time but requires a certain amount of scrambling to find verses and a message that finds its way to the central Truth I believe about God: that He loves each one of us, has the ability to be involved in each of our individual lives, wants us to be happy (beer is proof, quoth Ben Franklin), and longs for us to turn from our own wisdom and control, instead asking for His and submitting our will to His.

I believe that as Christians, we are to judge less, love more, give more, and keep God at the center of our lives. No greater love has any man than this, that he lay down his life for his friends. God, on the other hand, in the person of Jesus Christ, laid down His life for those who were not His friends, who did not love Him, or even know Him!

Why would God do this?
Here is an email I got for Christmas from a friend:
Code:
God and the Geese

There was once a man who didn't believe in God, and he didn't hesitate to  let others know how he felt about religion and religious holidays.