My recent visit to a Muslim Center

subculture_of_one

Reaction score
Hello all, I posted a topic about greeting an Imam earlier and was asked to give a brief account of what I experienced on my upcoming trip to a Muslim Center.

First- I am a professor of Comparative Religion and take my classes to a variety of religious centers (at the invitation of the communities of course!)
Second- A quick glance tells me that about 120 of my students attended (out of about 210 total)
Third- We were able to attend an open-house (this particular center was expanded 2 years ago and they've had an open house each year), we were lucky enough to schedule our trip on the same day.
Fourth- I will post more as I ask specific classes what they thought and any followup questions they may have.

I will try to qualify what information I glean from what type of student (age, gender, etc.)

One quick note- I tell my students very seriously that any cell phones that go off in religious centers will result in them not getting credit for any of the 3 required field trips. About half way through a short lecture the Imam was giving us, his cell phone went off! We all shared a chuckle on that...

Unless nobody is interested, then I'll just shuffle off into the background :D

Sub

It sounds like an interesting experience, certainly for the non-Muslims and perhaps Muslims here too. Post away. :)

*oof!*

Wow, loosen your focus for a second and the months disappear on you!

Sorry for the delay in posting.... Here goes,

Approximately 80 students of mine (out of a total of about 200) attended a fieldtrip to a local Muslim center in May. I will first give my personal impressions and then share some of the input my students shared with me.