francis in the mental hospital

Francis king

Reaction score
Dear all, I am currently working in an acute inpatient psychiatric facility and would like to make available a space for my thoughts...

I will be returning at 10pm tonight (as I'm on a late shift today)... I will write about 15 pages then...lol... and update this page...

hope u are all well...

FK

oh , fk I saw the headline and i was worried......... Glad you are working there, not a patient. Good luck with it and i look forward to reading your thoughts..........

And now I am here I wonder what to say...

Two years ago I was working in the exact same facility, as an mental health advocate- a person who helps those who feel unable to speak up against or to the system do so, and now I am a nurse... or rather... a trainee nurse...

I knew the system, then, but moved onto other things- bright lights beckoned me... I kept up to date, ish, with my knowledge of madness and the psychiatric arts, and hoped that over time things would have moved on a bit... I had also hoped this particular facility had changed, and inside, the building has- they have split wards up, spruced up the paintwork, and replaced the furnishings, yet...

the exact same staff are there, and, begorrah, some of the same patients too... there's at least 10 well paid professionals regularly employed to take care of them, and yet... here they are again... with the same problems they had before, and even worse off than the last time, after another six months of missed opportunities...