I think Jews shouldn't consume animals.

Yes, why shouldn't we eat meat? The Almighty clearly permits it.

I don't eat meat and I consider it very Jewish to not do so, but I wouldn't suggest Jews in general shouldn't eat animals.

It's a Jewish forum. I'm not an expert in other religions. I heard Hindus and Buddhists and 7th day adventists, and Sikhs? don't eat meat, but I'm not sure they do it for the same reasons as Jews do it. I'd like to know why these religions don't consume meat though.
Anyway, If you(a Jew) knew the facts of factory farming, could you eat meat in peace?
If you say yes, then I'd like to know more about your thought process.
I have alot of Jewish sources that have convinced me that the Tora at least discourages it. However, now in the age of factory farming(post WW2) I have to go further and say that it's a sin. The only question is about the ignorant Jew on this matter. I suppose they are off the hook. Then there are those who think it's o.k.; and even further, holy; and even further, that I'm sinning by not consuming meat!

i eat meat. i like it. i only eat kosher though and i wish that that also meant that the animals are always treated with the highest standards of ethics, but i'm afraid it isn't the case always. i understand that there is probably a point in the messianic age where i'd stop eating it, but i am *so* not there yet.

b'shalom

bananabrain

I have alot of Jewish sources that have convinced me that the Tora at least discourages it.
What are your scriptural references for this. I thought they were exactly the opposite after the garden.
bb said:
i eat meat. i like it. i only eat kosher though and i wish that that also meant that the animals are always treated with the highest standards of ethics, but i'm afraid it isn't the case always.