Fatties

T

Tao_Equus

BBC NEWS | UK | Magazine | Why are fat people abused?
Have to admit whilst having never insulted nor abused anyone for it I am a fattist. Am I really just afraid of flab? I think not, I am naturally slim without ever having dieted. I just find flab like all outward signals of excess off-putting. So I unfairly stereotype... but is it like a prejudice such as racism?

When I was a carpenter, out there swinging a hammer, liftin trusses, hauling shingles and material to and fro... I kept slender, ate like a pig, drank like a fish and had no weight issues.

With time and climbing the perverbial ladder of success, my tastes in food and alcohol improved (degenerated?) and my activity lessened as my butt became glued to a chair... my excess did not stop and over the past 20 years my girth has detailed it accordingly.

20-25 pounds over the suggested BMI is obese...and even if it weren't I are. While I don't have issues with airline seatbelts, I know I do infringe on others in seats adjacent.

There is a predjudice, I personally don't encounter much of it, but some of it. Maybe if it affected me more I would be more inclined to do something...about my weight that is. It isn't as if anyone can do anything about gender (not really) or hair or skin color or national origin. So while it is insensitive, I don't see it the same.

Truth is, like smoking, excess drinking, extra weight is in fact a burden on society and health care systems. So I will expect some regulation at some point in time (airlines have already been charging for two seats and buffets are making some folks weigh their food).

Weight is fairly cut and dry, burn less calories than you eat, you gain weight, to me the only folks with an excuse are those with disabilities that infringe on their ability to exercise. (I don't fit in that category).